Instagram Feed

  • Image posted by @centralsapc
  • Image posted by @centralsapc
  • Image posted by @centralsapc
  • Image posted by @centralsapc



Video of the Week.

Join our email list

Enter your email to sign up for our email list


FREE RSVP for priority access once capacity is reached.

Radars to the Sky (Single Release Party) w/ Seasons, the breakups, and Cardoza

Share this Show:
  • Preview Videos
  • $8.00 - $10.00
  • Show Type: Indie Rock
  • 21 & over

The Breakups: Most bands end with a breakup, but indie pop band, the breakups, started that way. The year was 2007, and Jake Gideon had just been dumped by his long-time girlfriend. As if that wasn't emotionally traumatic enough, the co-founding member of Gideon's previous band made a sudden decision to move to Virginia after they had played only one show. The way Gideon saw it, there were two options: crawl under a rock and never reemerge, or form the band he'd always wanted and call it the breakups to poke fun at the woeful circumstances that surrounded the group's inception. After filling out the lineup with PHil Shrut on drums, James Williams on keyboards, Nik Ahistam on guitar, and Tim Lee on bass, the band played its first show at the Fake Gallery in Silver Lake on July 12th, 2007. It was a fruitful time for the east-side music scene in L.A., and before long the breakups were gigging consistently at venues like Spaceland, The Echo, Silverlake Lounge, Mr. T's Bowl, and Pehrspace, allying themselves with several like-minded bands along the way. It was a tight-knit community of talented musicians and artists who all supported each other by attending shows, trading records, juggling band members, and encouraging each other with a little friendly competition. On Valentine's Day of 2008, the breakups released the eat your heart out ep to positive reviews. the EP reached #66 on the CMJ Top 200, with 78 Top 30 chartings at radio stations around the country, including 29 in the Top 10. Five out of the six songs on the EP earned TV or film placements, and Nic Harcourt made the song "after the fact" his Daily Connections on KCSN in Los Angeles. Gideon continued to develop his voice as a songwriter and the sound of te band evolved and matured. The fruits of that evolution are showcased on their first full length album, running jumping falling shouting, due for release on February 14th. The 12-song LP has a clarity and confidence that conjures hints of Wilco, The Shins, The New Pornographers, and Elliott Smith, while maintaining a strong identity of its own.

Seasons : On fresh material such as "Light, Lost" and "Of Our Discontent," Seasons crafts airy, spacious guitar rock. With local producer Raymond Richards on the boards (Local Natives), the group's latest EP is full of polished touches. This Highland Park based band plays a tender yet voluminous brand of indie rock, combining winding guitar riffs and Colin Meloy-esque vocals with a veritable forest of carefully arranged flourishes. The synthesizers, keyboards, percussion, and violin never overpower the basic emotional appeal that runs throughout the newest EP instead serving to create a sweetly melancholy atmosphere in which you can easily float away.


1348 14th St, Santa Monica, CA
Phone: (310) 451-5040
21 + Nightclub

About Centralsapc.

Central SAPC is a live music venue and bar in Santa Monica, CA.